End of 2017 Reminders, Happy 2018

End of 2017 Reminders, Happy 2018

It’s been a fruitful year for IQSA. In 2017 we furthered our work in the Review of Qur’anic Research (RQR), awarded the first winner of the Andrew Rippin Best Paper Prize, published the first issue of the Journal of the International Qur’an Studies Association, and held the second biennial International Meeting in Carthage, Tunisia. We also welcomed hundreds of friends and colleagues from around the world to our  Annual Meeting in Boston. As the year winds to a close we reflect on our association’s achievements with gratitude to our members, contributors, and readers around the world. We also take this time to renew our dedication to providing valuable resources and opportunities for collaboration in Qur’anic studies in 2018.


In addition, IQSA also introduced two new membership tiers – Institutional and Lifetime membership, and warmly welcomed its inaugural Lifetime Members, Professor Jane Dammen McAuliffe, Director of National and International Outreach, Library of Congress, and President Emeritus, Bryn Mawr College, and Professor Reza Aslan, University of California in Riverside. IQSA encourages all to renew their membership for 2018 via any of the five membership levels to receive benefits including:

We appreciate your membership!

U.S. taxpayers! Are you still looking to make an end-of-year tax deductible charitable donation? Consider supporting Qur’anic scholarship with a donation to IQSA. We are a registered 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization eligible to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions. You can donate to IQSA online by clicking HERE.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tg-W3Asj3R8?version=3&rel=1&fs=1&autohide=2&showsearch=0&showinfo=1&iv_load_policy=1&wmode=transparent]

Finally, please do not forget to follow our BlogTwitter and Facebook accounts, and to join the private IQSA Discussion Group. Thanks for your support!

We wish you a very Happy Holidays! كل عام وأنتم بخير


© International Qur’anic Studies Association, 2017. All rights reserved.

IQSA Leadership 2017

The 2017 calendar year ushers in new leadership serving on the Board of Directors and Standing Committees of the International Qur’anic Studies Association. These officers, committee chairs, directors, and editors collaborate from around the globe, guiding the first learned society devoted to the study of the Qur’an in its goal to foster Qur’anic scholarship from a variety of academic disciplines. See below for those distinguished scholars nominated, elected, and appointed at the 2016 Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas.


Screen Shot 2014-06-10 at 8.54.38 AM

 Gerald Hawting, SOAS University of London, President


 Abdullah Saeed, University of Melbourne, President Elect


Gabriel Reynolds, University of Notre Dame, Chair (Reappointed)


Fred Donner, University of Chicago, Reappointed


Sarra Tlili, University of Florida, Newly Elected




Screen Shot 2014-06-10 at 8.58.03 AM

Holger Zellentin, University of Nottingham, Nominating Committee Chair

Screen Shot 2014-06-10 at 8.44.17 AM

Nicolai Sinai, University of Oxford, Programming Committee Chair


Mun’im Sirry, University of Notre Dame, International Programming Committee Chair


Mehdi Azaiez, University of Leuven, 2017 IM Tunisia Director

Reuven Firestone, Hebrew Union College, Publications and Research Committee Chair


David Powers, Cornell University, Monographs Director


Vanessa De Gifis, Wayne State University,  JIQSA Co-Editor

Screen Shot 2014-06-10 at 8.49.06 AM

Michael Pregill, Boston University, JIQSA Co-Editor


Shari Lowin, Stonehill College, Review of Qur’anic Research Editor

A very warm welcome to our IQSA leadership for 2017!